Wine-o

An unintended consequence of becoming vegan was learning that WINE isn’t all vegan. Not only can animal-derived ingredients be used in wine, but mainly what one has to look out for is animal products being used in the filtering process. And that’s not going on any ingredients list.

I tend to give whatever wine I’m drinking the benefit of the doubt, especially if it’s something being served somewhere I’m at or if it’s something a friend brought to my house. I haven’t been super diligent about looking those things up – mainly I’m looking for what’s on sale.

Luckily there’s Barnivore, a crowd-sourced stockpile of information on what booze is vegan and not. I also have an Android app that does the same thing, yet I forget to use it at the store.

I can’t give up wine. I studied a semester in Bordeaux. So I just have to learn what’s animal-free.

This is all a vegan segue into what I really wanted to share: “Wine wisdom with a wink”

And this totally non-vegan-related hilarious wine selection flow chart by Wine Folly.

Thanks for indulging me.

About these ads

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alicia
    Feb 13, 2014 @ 20:22:51

    There are a couple of vegan bars in my town, so that helps make things a little easier…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

%d bloggers like this: