FREE STUFF: Win a copy of Happy Herbivore Light and Lean

NOTE: This giveaway is closed to new entries. We have a winner. Thanks for your interest!

As one of the hosts of the Happy Herbivore Light and Lean book tour, I get to let one of you mooch some swag.

Damn straight.

BenBella Books wants one of my lucky readers to get their hands on this fantastic cook book.

Get this shit

Get this shit

I received it a little more than a week ago and my omnivore family let me go to town making Sunday football grub from the book, like the roasted chickpeas and sweet pea guacamole. We had banana chocolate chip scones before the game started. And I made my mom a pumpkin spice latte from the book. (Go Seahawks!)

Everything was demolished before I could snap crappy cell phone photos.

It also has trusty, handy recipes Lindsay Nixon tends to print in all of her cookbooks, like a version of nacho cheese, vegan sour cream, vegan mayo, gluten-free flour blend, and more.

When my BFF comes to visit me tomorrow, I plan to make the HHLL ruby chocolate muffins with her.


I’m making the cheese ball and spinach artichoke dip for a New Year’s party. And the vegan parmesan looks like the easiest thing ever, so I need to make a ton of that, too. Also, my new jars of roasted red peppers are destined for some red pesto.

And remember the Thai crunch salad is pretty bomb, too.

Oh, and everything’s good for you. Not just in a kind to animals and the environment way, but also a no-vegan-junk-food way. Perfect for feeling good about what you’re eating during or after the holidays. Because some of us have a little muffin top going after a bunch of free food with family, amirite?

I’m a journalist at my day job, so it’s important for you to know that my opinion is my own and I would love Happy Herbivore Light and Lean even if Lindsay didn’t make a pit stop on Girl Goes Veggie.

“Just tell me what the flip to do, gosh.”

So, you have until 11:59 p.m. PST January 6. Enter the contest by leaving a comment about one of your favorite plant-based dishes (with a link to the recipe if applicable), and/or follow this blog (sign up in the right column) and/or tweet out a crappy cell phone photo of something awesome and vegan you’re eating with the hashtag #veggiegiveaway (for inspiration, browse this blog – the key is low lighting and lack of ability to focus your photo and keep your hands still). If you do all three, that’s three entries. Those who already follow the blog are considered entered!

I’ll get in touch with the winner (who must be a resident of the U.S. or Canuckistan) and BenBella will send you your book.

Boom.

Boring shit:

Giveaway ends January 6th 11:59 PM EST. Open to Legal Residents (18 years of age or older) of the United States and Canada only. Winner will be selected at random and be notified by email or whatever electronic means possible. Winner will have 48 hours to respond before a new winner is selected. Please note that Girl Goes Veggie is not responsible for sponsors that do not fulfill their prizes. I have represented each sponsor with the expectation they will fulfill their prize and in a timely manner. I will contact the sponsor regarding your prize. The sponsors are shipping their items to you directly. I will make every effort to assist you in obtaining your prize. If there is an issue with a sponsor, please notify the blog you won a prize from within 30 days for assistance, after that we may be unable to assist you. The product provided for the review was free of charge from the company. The product offered for the giveaway is free of charge, no purchase necessary. My opinions are my own and were not influenced by any form of compensation. Facebook, Twitter and Google+ are in no way associated with this giveaway. I do not share or sell information and will use any information only for the purpose of contacting the winner.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie Lachman
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 07:11:33

    Oh I’d love a vegan cookbook! I think I cook vegan more than I think, I’ve made this recipe a couple times, http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Israeli-Couscous-with-Roasted-Butternut-Squash-and-Preserved-Lemon-102250
    It’s soo savory and delicious, the preserved lemons can be found at fancyish grocery stores (Metropolitan Mkt prolly) or you can make them yourself.

    Reply

  2. Sher De Lune
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 13:22:29

    Right now we are enjoying the Cabbage Soup recipe from this very book, which we have checked out of the library. It is the yummiest thing ever. We also made the Chocolate Chip Scones to have with vegan hot cocoa on New Years Eve. They were awesome.

    Reply

    • Lynsi
      Jan 02, 2014 @ 13:06:53

      Those scones were soooo awesome, right?? I’m making them again soon. Gotta try the cabbage soup, looks amazing. And checking out cookbooks from the library never occurred to me. I should look into that!

      Reply

      • Sher De Lune
        Jan 02, 2014 @ 13:32:51

        Yes, the scones were amazing. We do not allow ourselves to splurge too often, but when we do, we make it worth our while!

        I had a small stroke in January 2012 because of uncontrolled high blood pressure and type II diabetes. Since that time, we have hanged our lifestyle 100% and I have lost well over 130 pounds (which is why we only allow splurges once in while). We committed to a completely plant based diet after being vegetarian for nearly 23 years, and it’s been three weeks now. So far so good! But yes. I highly recommend those scones!

  3. Sher De Lune
    Jan 02, 2014 @ 13:33:49

    CHANGED..not hanged. Can’t find an edit button!

    Reply

  4. Lynsi
    Jan 02, 2014 @ 13:36:07

    Way to go! You rock! Best to you and I’m glad you’re recovering so well.

    Reply

  5. Ashley
    Jan 05, 2014 @ 17:53:45

    I have already shared my favorite vegan recipe with you, but here it is again! Brody asks for this almost weekly!

    http://www.allysonkramer.com/2012/05/maitake-fettuccine-in-cream-sauce/

    Changes we make: We use Button or Cremini mushrooms and no cinnamon

    Reply

  6. amy
    Jan 06, 2014 @ 10:10:59

    Although neither vegan nor vegetarian, I do love vegetables and new, interesting ways to prepare them (AND ways to get my very carnivorous manfriend to eat them, too). My favorite vegan dish is roasted root veggies. Basically pick 4-5 root veggies (beets, rutabagas, turnips, sweet potatoes, etc.), toss in some red or sweet onion and garlic, and some herbs to your liking (thyme and dried parsley do it for me) and lightly toss in olive oil (or coconut oil adds an interesting flavor!), then bake at 425 for 40-50 minutes. Deliciousness.

    Reply

  7. Johanna
    Jan 06, 2014 @ 18:51:40

    I didn’t realize that I could already be considered entered by following your blog! But anyway, this is one of my winter standbys: http://www.delish.com/recipefinder/asian-vegetable-soup-noodles-recipe-8350
    I usually don’t have any broth on hand and just use water, regular green cabbage instead of napa, leave out the bok choy because I don’t have any (although I’m sure it would be good) and add a drained can of chickpeas. It’s easy and fast and I love the lemon flavor. It also stores well, I just put the noodles in one container and the soup in another and combine the two when I eat it.

    I also love these lentil meatballs: http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/11/14/the-meatball-shop-goes-vegetarian/?_r=0 They’re not vegan, but I think you could leave out the parmesan, maybe include some more walnuts or almond butter instead, and replace the eggs with a flax egg.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

