Portland!

After some tough weeks at work for the both of us, my boyfriend and I went to Portland for the weekend.

My main experience with Portland is my mom taking my brother and me to the Clackamas Mall (quite outside of Portland) for sales tax-free back-to-school shopping. Of course I’ve been to Portland proper, the metropolitan neighbor to the south, but I hadn’t explored it on my own.

Seattle is an easy city in which to be vegan, but in Portland they totally cater to you. I had a waiter volunteer to check on the veganness of a salad, went to places with special vegan menus and you can just say “make it vegan, please” and they know what to do (too many people don’t know what that means, so I always have to specify no mayo/sour cream/cheese/aioli, etc.). Portland is particularly vegan-savvy.

Now eating out with the man friend means seeking out omni restaurants that have something I can eat. Homeboy doesn’t quite get that it’s possible to have a meal without meat.

But it was so easy!

Oh and we drank lots of craft beer. So happy beer is vegan.

Not pictured: a grilled PB and J from the famous Bunk Sandwiches. Yeah I’m gonna make those at home now.

Recommended brewery: Pints.

Maybe next time I’ll go to Portland with girlfriends who will eat at the vegan joints with me.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. davekheath
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 08:56:40

    Portland is so Vegan friendly it has vegan doughnuts.

    Reply

    • Lynsi
      Apr 17, 2014 @ 10:24:22

      Seattle does, too, but I’m glad I can score some in Port Town, as well! Goes great with Stumptown coffee!

      Reply

  2. Andrea
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 12:11:58

    Yes, the vegans definitely rule Portland. Even the gluten-free share in the bounty. You HAVE to go there with people who want to experience the vegan eateries — or let the vegan bloggers know you’ll be in town — there are too many great places to pass up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

