CSA OMG

Gorgeous and incredibly daunting all at once.

Gorgeous and incredibly daunting all at once.

I have been busy in the kitchen, now more than ever.

And it’s because of my CSA.

I’ve never had a CSA subscription before. Too expensive for my miniscule salary, all that.

But now that I make a lil’ more money this year, I decided to subscribe to the cheapest farm subscription I could find in Seattle. A half-share. Because, you know, I’m a single person who can’t consume a whole share.

For the past month-and-a-half, I’ve been drowning in vegetables.

In many ways, I love it. I love supporting the city P-Patch program I bought into and I love the weekly bounty that feels like Christmas every Saturday.

But it is sooooooooooooooooo much.

Pretty sure my half-share is still meant to feed four people.

So far I haven’t quite made it a whole week without a few items going to waste, sadly. I’ve been trimming stems and leafy root vegetable tops, rotating heads of lettuce though bowls of warm water like I was taught, saving scraps for veggie stock, making pestos and trying my damnedest to find recipes that will make me like rainbow chard (I’ve found a couple). I give greens away to my boyfriend, who loves salad and onions.

It still feels so stressful.

Again. I love these beautiful veggies. I love rifling through my new bag every week, audibly gasping, “Radishes!” and “Omigod bok choy” and “Shit, look at that chard!”

And though it’s challenging, I’m experimenting all the freaking time and learning ways to use as much as I can. At $15 per week, the yield so far has been a fantastic value.

I just wish I could freeze leafy greens for the winter. Alas.

Join me on my journey so far, won’t you? And if you have tips on tackling a massive CSA onslaught, please do tell!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracey
    Jul 24, 2014 @ 06:07:19

    I too belong to a CSA and love it. Greens can be a challenge in the Spring and late fall when you get a bunch. Cooked greens can be frozen. I throw beet greens, chard, kale (whatever happens to be in the share) into veggie stir fry with brown rice and freeze individual servings. One bunch of chard cooks down so much, so you can put it all in. The lettuces are a challenge to get through without going bad when it’s just you eating it. So glad you are supporting a local farm in your area, and are promoting CSA on your blog.

    Reply

  2. Rikki
    Aug 13, 2014 @ 14:31:09

    Feed your worm bin!

    Reply

    • Lynsi
      Aug 13, 2014 @ 14:38:04

      Doooood I totally would but I adopted them out to my parents when I moved out of Mount Vernon and was homeless for five months. 😦 I still visit and feed them. I miss my wormies!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

