Brunch in my belly

Brunch is probably the best thing ever invented. A few times a month, Mike and I try to make it out to The Dish or Five-Point Cafe for brunch, or I like to meet a girlfriend somewhere.

As I’ve said before, weekday breakfast is a challenge for this sleepyhead. I can’t muster effort to do anything in the morning. Often I give up on trying to do my hair.

But on weekends or days off when I’m not out brunching or running around, I’ve taken to my own eat-in brunch. It’s nice. I’m cleaning out my fridge, I’m brewing up some coffee and there is no rush. And then there are leftovers, meaning I have a treat to take with me to work and get a good start to my day. (Boom.)

Everyday Happy Herbivore cheesy cauliflower hash and a tofu scramble. Top with hot sauce.

Everyday Happy Herbivore cheesy cauliflower hash and a tofu scramble. Top with hot sauce.

I’ve recently acquired Lindsay Nixon’s first two cookbooks, Happy Herbivore Cookbook and Everyday Happy Herbivore on Amazon Kindle. I prefer hard copies and I don’t actually have a Kindle – I just keep the books on my laptop – but they were super cheap on sale and they include some pretty great, easy recipes that come together quite fast.  I tried out the EHH cheesy cauliflower hash one morning and it was pretty simple and good – made cheesy with plenty of nooch. Not as indulgent and satisfying as potato hash browns, but still a nice and healthy alternative (and faster to make).

tumblr_m4r6bcH4vz1rqoe3so1_500

Would totally make again with some leftover cauli, which I often don’t know what to do with. And I often use the Happy Herbivore Abroad‘s migas as inspiration for whatever tofu scramble I whip up.

Chickpea scramble. As with almost all my favorite breakfast foods, top with hot sauce.

Chickpea scramble. As with almost all my favorite breakfast foods, top with hot sauce.

Isa Does It has a neato chickpea scramble breakfast recipe. Has lots of dill and goes great on toast – in this pictured case, a Columbia City Bakery loaf from the Queen Anne farmer’s market.

Cajun home fries. Top with hot sauce.

Cajun home fries. Top with hot sauce.

Recently I’ve had a surplus of potatoes with my CSA. A crazy easy dish: roasted potatoes. These are cajun home fries from the Happy Herbivore Cookbook. Garlic powder, onion powder, paprika and cayenne. With salt and pepper. I scrambled some tofu while these babies got good in the oven.

What are your fave breakfast recipes?

Leave a Reply

