A not-horrible experience at a barbecue joint

Last weekend my grandma wanted her birthday dinner at Famous Dave’s in Tacoma, a veritable temple of barbecued meat.

I was pretty prepared to order like a baked potato and find that for some reason the restaurant only had pre-buttered potatoes in their kitchen (I don’t even know if that’s a thing).

So I came in still full from the brunch I had at about 1 p.m. that day (the Five Point was crowded and having a slow time of it).

And you know what? I wish I hadn’t come there full.

I came in awhile after the rest of my family did – my mom already explained to the waitress that a vegan was arriving, so they were prepared.

The waitress’ boyfriend was vegan. Imagine, a vegan dating a barbecue slinger. Anyway, it was nice that someone there understood the meaning of the word.

I ordered a plain baked potato, a garden salad (without bacon, cheese and egg – you know, stuff that goes on their “garden salad”) and steamed broccoli. The waitress said they had a pretty bomb chimichurri sauce that could go on the potato and I said, “Hell yeah” (or something more polite but equally enthusiastic).

While waiting for my food, the waitress let me know that she asked the cook to whip up his famous pico de gallo to go on the potato, too. Yes and thank you!

The food was pretty abundant. I doused by potato in chimichurri and pico and squirted on some barbecue sauce (because barbecue sauce goes on everything). I couldn’t finish it all! That made me pretty sad. But it worked out, because then I was full during chocolate cake time back at my parents’ house.

I still haven’t told my grandma that I’m vegan. I don’t think that concept would compute with her. She’d give me a hard time about it. This is a woman all about red meat who complains I’m too skinny. But here I was obviously not partaking in the pile o’ meat in the middle of the table and getting something special just for me. And she didn’t say anything. Just as well.

Anyway, it was pretty great. I expected to be a foreigner in a barbecue joint and feeling awkward about maybe gnawing on whatever lettuce they had in the back while everyone gorged on ribs. But my food was delicious and the waitress and cook were accommodating. (Sorry no pictures – lighting was dim and as you know, my phone suxxx.)

Thanks, Famous Dave’s. You’re all right.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cookeasyvegan
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:22:38

    I love when stuff like this happens. I had a similar experience recently at a wedding, and my stunning plate of food looked about 10 times better than the omnivore’s plates!

    Reply

  2. cookeasyvegan
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:00:47

    Hi Lynsi,
    You are the winner of the Happy Cow Cookbook giveaway on my blog! Please send me your mailing address and I’ll forward it to the publisher so you can receive your copy a.s.a.p.
    -Andrea

    Reply

  3. Lynsi
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:04:31

    Wow neat, thank you! Emailing you now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

