Happy vegan-iversary to me

I mark the first day of this blog as my vegan-iversary.

I wanted a food blog for awhile, but I didn’t want to do it unless I knew I was committed to being a full-time herbivore.

It was just a couple months earlier that two of my best friends and I challenged each other to go a whole month vegan and we all failed. I failed on the first day, which also happened to coincide with the first day of a new job in a new city. I wandered around looking for places to eat. I found a sandwich shop and ordered the eggplant. They were out of eggplant. So I got the turkey. I felt bad.

Since then, I’ve nooch-ed and miso-ed my way through a life of full-time veggiehood and I have loved it so much.

I wasn’t perfect. I’ve eaten a fucking mint that contained dairy. I have probably unwittingly consumed a biscuit brushed with butter or maybe a vegetable soup with chicken or beef broth. I have definitely been accidentally served a sandwich or burger with mayo and ate it anyway.

But it’s OK. I do my best. I don’t get down if I made a mistake. I learn.

I also have existential struggles sometimes. Wondering what it’s all for. Does it matter if I have cheese this once? If it’s already on something and it’s there? I get the question: If I was consuming something from a completely happy cow that had a beautiful life, would I eat it? Fuck if I know. How am I supposed to know?

It all started with food, but then this life forced me to look at what my clothes and shoes and makeup are made of. Am I just a food vegan or a lifestyle vegan? Ethical, health, environmental vegan?

I don’t think some of these things matter so much. I’m not into labels. I don’t even really like calling myself “vegan” because of the connotations it evokes, but it’s also a more recognizable label than “plant-based” or whatever.

I don’t know. I think whatever people can do to make the world a better place helps.

But I know that this has personally been my most creative year in food to date. I’ve made my own curries from scratch for the first time and baked with ground flaxseed and chickpea flour. The acquisitions of a hand blender, cast iron pan and a food processor (all gifts or freebies!) have helped.

I have just about always loved food, but I love it more than ever. It is medicine. It is a salve for the soul. It’s uplifting. It unites people.

And I love showing friends and family how badass plant-based food is, even if they’ll never turn (and that’s not my aim).

I love this life. It’s compassionate and healthy and enlightening.

Here’s to the next year and beyond with plants.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MeShell
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 21:05:33

    Happy Veganiversary! You’re not alone in exploring those questions, and I don’t think anyone will take away your vegan card if you accidentally eat something that isn’t vegan. 🙂 I’m of the mind that it’s worth doing the best you can with what you have available to you. It’s nearly impossible to be perfect at anything anyway.

    (Colleen Patrick-Goudreau has a lot of great thoughts on that too, especially in some of her recent posts/podcasts.)

    For myself, it’s hard to explain, but I’ve come to the point where I don’t see animal products as food anymore, but just weird anachronistic things people still eat for reasons that no longer make any sense to me. But I think that may have something to do with the duration of my veganism (it’s been a while). That said, I still have the “what does it matter anyway” thoughts.

    Reply

    • Lynsi
      Sep 19, 2014 @ 11:42:37

      Haha thanks for the wishes! I’m glad you agree – it’s all about doing our best. And it is hard to follow the lifestyle perfectly – I’m not necessarily tempted by meat, etc. but dairy and meat products are so intertwined in everyday food that it’s easy for it to be sneaked into things we would otherwise believe are vegan. Pretty crazy – and a real eye-opener.

      Thanks again for the solidarity!

      Reply

  2. Richa
    Oct 05, 2014 @ 19:43:52

    oh yay happy veganversary. seriously don’t fret .. the best we can do changed every year. next year you might write a post saying how you have developed xray vision and you can look at the food and know it has dairy in it ;). have a fantastic second year with plants!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

