Store-bought natural peanut butter? RIP-OFF. Make your own, boss!

In recent years, of course, I got into eating natural, no-crazy-sugar-or-other-bullshit-added peanut butter.

But have you seen straight up peanut butter in the store?! Freaking $6, $7, $8 – who has that kind of cash for luxury peanut butter?! I don’t live near a Grocery Outlet anymore, so I’ve paid crap prices for peanut butter a few times. Luckily I don’t go through peanut butter that quickly.

My baller friend Ashley, one of my high school besties, posted about making her own peanut butter over at her blog.

ZOMG I HAD TO DO THIS.

For some reason it took me freaking months to get around to it. Why? WHY? (For one, my local market was really slow on re-stocking unsalted peanuts in bulk. RAWR.)

I finally tried it about a month ago. Like Ashley said: peanuts and salt in the food processor.

Peanutty goodness.

Peanutty goodness.

Unlike the result in Ashley’s post, my peanut butter turned into a ball. I found that kind of curious and thought I made it wrong.

However, it tasted pretty great until I added too much salt. Wahhh. That and it was hard to spread with its pasty texture.

I ate it all, anyway. It was still quite good.

I ate it all, anyway. It was still quite good.

This morning, I finally dumped my remaining peanuts in my trusty food processor to give a second batch a go. (I planned on having PB&J sammiches for lunch today.)

I added less salt and a dash of sugar, at my boyfriend’s suggestion. (I don’t think it’s necessary, but can’t hurt.)

Batch No. 2

Batch No. 2

Didn’t yield a ton because it was just the last handful of peanuts I had, but it was definitely creamier! I’m not an engineer/scientist like Ashley, so I have no idea why it turned out so differently, but this batch was fantastically spreadable. Bigger success!

My sammiches were delicious.

Anyway, I only spent a few bucks on a big bag o’ peanuts (unsalted) and it took a mere minutes to make, almost entirely hands-off grinding time.

WHAT WHAT.

I’m probably not gonna go full-on homemaker making my own almond milks and shit, but I’m a definite homemade peanut butter convert. It sounds impressive and is super easy.

Thanks for the tip, Ashley!

(Anyone have a clue about why the peanut butter would turn out differently? Tell meeeee!)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley
    Oct 13, 2014 @ 20:58:01

    You need to keep processing! The ball, from your first batch isn’t your finished product. Your second batch, was creamer because you had less peanuts and therefore a shorter processing time.

    When I make nut butter in my food processor, I have to run it for what seems like 20 minutes. I do 5 on 5 off to rest the motor. And you just need a pinch of salt. I don’t think adding too much salt will change the creaminess, just make it really salty. Good luck with your next batch!

    Reply

  2. Lynsi
    Oct 13, 2014 @ 21:02:21

    Ha OK thanks for the tip! I was wondering why it didn’t seem to budge from the Play-Doh texture, but I just need to have patience! Good idea with resting the motor. I burned out my Magic Bullet trying to make tahini! Love you, girl.

    Reply

    • Ashley
      Oct 14, 2014 @ 21:32:51

      I have yet to attempt to make tahini. I have a friend who did with her professional food processor, and she said it takes her 10 minutes. Which translates to a year with my yard sale $5 food processor, that I believe is from the early 90’s…

      Reply

  3. Rikki
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 13:47:35

    “But it makes nut butters!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

