When a vegan loves an omnivore

I love Grist‘s Ask Umbra.

Today she gives relationship advice for mixed-diet couples.

I went from omni to vegetarian to vegan, all while with my bacon cheeseburger-loving boyfriend. He can’t comprehend the vegan life, but he’s sensitive to my desires and supportive, which is all I can ask.

And sometimes we have stir fry or salad nights together. He knows it’s BYO meat and cheese.

Are you in a mixed-diet relationship? How have you reconciled your veggie interest with the omnis in your life?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amandadrian1
    Nov 14, 2014 @ 00:05:01

    I know someone who is in a relationship like that, but I don’t think I could be in one. I find it upsetting to see friends eat meat in front of me, to see family members eat it in front of me. It cuts me up inside, cos I find it gross on one level, and heart breaking on another.
    I’ve thought in the past that it would be ok to date someone (with the inherent belief that one day they’d see my point and give up meat) but to settle down would be another thing. My grandfather has been vegetarian for the last thirty years but my grandmother won’t budge from her carnivorous ways.

    So anyway, good for you, but I couldn’t do that 😮

    Reply

  2. amandadrian1
    Nov 14, 2014 @ 00:05:54

    Ps great post! I think it’s important to talk about all this stuff – definitely. It’s way healthier than keeping it all bottled up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

