Holy shitballs, it’s spring!

The most recent Vegetarian Times had two spring-o-rific pasta dishes within its pages and you pretty much need to try them or spring hasn’t started yet.

Like, you haven’t had enough green in your life until you’ve made these.

First, I was super jazzed to bring leeks and broccolini into this spring pasta primavera. (I used broccolini instead of broccoli rabe because that’s what I could find.) (I also used whole wheat fusilli instead of farfalle for the same reason.)

Spring into my face.

Spring into my face.

And what is genius is this pine nut sauce that brings it all together and makes this fresh, stupendously green dish feel rich and decadent. Pine nuts are a splurge, but I imagine you can use soaked cashews in their place – still a bit pricey, but less so.

And look how much it made! I loved that it was more green than pasta.

Screaming for its friend, vegan parmesan. They were soon united.

Screaming for its friend, vegan parmesan. They were soon united.

Next is this asparagus fettuccine (which I made with whole wheat spaghetti). One of the *very* best things about spring is the arrival of asparagus. And this recipe offered up yet another genius idea – turning asparagus into the sauce!

Spring is competing with summer for my heart here.

Spring is competing with summer for my heart here.

So, my cell phone lens is scratched to shit so there’s physically no way to take good photos despite my best efforts, so just trust, OK? (I’m inadvertently keeping true to my tagline.) And check the links for professional shots!

I’ve tried in recent years not to make too many pasta dishes so that I can challenge myself and not load up on too much starch, but these recipes bring so many goodies and fabulously healthy components that they’re simultaneously exciting to eat and feel good, too.

Baseball, asparagus and leeks. Life is all right.

Leave a comment